Startup Finance Guide
Sales & Fintech Tools

Guides on CRM deal detection, debt collection voice AI, FDCPA compliance, and fintech automation. Multi-vendor comparisons with compliance scores, implementation timelines, and honest limitations.

A desk with a calculator, highlighter, three coin stacks of increasing height and a printed comparison sheet, representing customer success software costs at three team sizes

Most Affordable Customer Success Software for B2B Startups: A Pricing Teardown at 3 Team Sizes

On published prices, the most affordable customer success software for B2B startups is Successifier ($79, $249 or $499 a month by account volume) and HubSpot Service Hub Professional ($90 per seat a month plus a one-time $1,500 onboarding fee); Odie, formerly Totango, starts at $500 or $1,500 a month. Quivly AI, Custify, Planhat, ChurnZero, Gainsight, ClientSuccess and Vitally publish no price, so they are marked quote-only here instead of estimated. A team of 2 CSMs with 100 accounts pays $0 to about $3,900 in year one on the published options, and 10 CSMs with 1,000 accounts pay about $6,000 to $12,300. Seat pricing wins when each CSM carries many accounts, and account-volume pricing wins when they carry few.

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, tax, or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for guidance specific to your situation.

Reviewed for financial accuracy by the Startup Finance Guide editorial team. Our editors cross-reference all claims against platform documentation, pricing pages, and primary regulatory sources. Last reviewed: October 12, 2026.

The most affordable customer success software for a B2B startup, going only by prices vendors publish, is Successifier at $79 to $499 a month and HubSpot Service Hub Professional at $90 per seat a month plus a one-time $1,500 onboarding fee. Odie (formerly Totango) publishes floors of $500 and $1,500 a month. Quivly AI, Custify, Planhat, ChurnZero, Gainsight, ClientSuccess and Vitally publish no price at all, so nobody outside their sales teams can honestly rank them on cost. For a team of 2 CSMs and 100 accounts, the published options work out to between $0 and roughly $3,900 in year one. At 10 CSMs and 1,000 accounts the same options run from about $6,000 to $12,300.

That is a narrower answer than most "affordable CS software" lists give, and it is narrower on purpose. We already publish a ranked round-up of affordable customer success tools. This piece does something different. It takes the pricing pages apart, shows how each vendor meters you, and does the arithmetic at three team sizes using numbers a vendor has put in writing. Where a vendor is quote-only, the table says "quote only" instead of repeating a figure from a review site.

All prices below were read from each vendor's own pricing page on 12 October 2026.

Key takeaways

  • Only three of the ten vendors checked publish a dollar figure: Successifier ($79, $249 and $499 a month), HubSpot Service Hub (free, then $90 to $150 per seat a month on Professional and Enterprise) and Odie (from $500 or $1,500 a month).
  • Free tiers are rarer than older guides claim. HubSpot's free tools cover up to 2 users but leave out the customer success workspace. The free Totango plan that many lists still cite is not on Odie's pricing page.
  • Seat pricing and account-volume pricing cross over as you grow. At 2 CSMs HubSpot Professional is cheaper per year than Successifier's matching tier. At 10 CSMs it costs about twice as much.
  • One-time fees change year one more than the monthly rate does at small sizes. HubSpot's $1,500 onboarding fee is 41% of a 2-seat first-year bill.
  • Quivly AI, the newest product in this group, has no pricing page. Budget for it the way you would for Planhat or ChurnZero: after a demo and a written quote.

Who publishes a price and who does not

VendorWhat the pricing page showsMetered byFree plan or trialOne-time fees stated
Successifier$79, $249, $499 a month; Enterprise by quoteAccounts and team members14-day trial, no cardNone listed
HubSpot Service HubFree; Professional $90 per seat a month paid annually ($100 paid monthly); Enterprise from $150Seats, plus AI creditsFree tools for up to 2 users$1,500 (Professional), $3,500 (Enterprise)
Odie (formerly Totango)Knowledge Engine from $500 a month; Customer Operating System from $1,500 a monthKnowledge graphs, portfolio size, analysis depthNone listedNone listed; about 8 weeks to go live
ClientSuccessThree packages, no pricesCSM count and modulesNo free plan or self-serve trial"No setup fees"
GainsightEssentials and Enterprise, "Request Pricing"Full users and customers per userNone listed for the CS productNot stated
CustifyNo pricesNot statedNone listed"No setup fees"
PlanhatNo prices, "Enquire"Not statedNone listedNot stated
VitallyThree plans, "Request Pricing"Plan by coverage modelTrial sandbox offered during salesNot stated
ChurnZeroNo public pricing page foundNot statedNone listedNot stated
Quivly AINo pricing pageNot statedNone listedNot stated

Seven of ten are quote-only. That is the first thing to understand about this category: the question "which is cheapest" can be answered for three vendors and only guessed at for the rest.

The five ways customer success software is priced

Pricing pages in this market use different units, which is why two quotes for the same team can differ by a multiple. These are the models you will meet.

Per seat

You pay for each person who works in the tool. HubSpot Service Hub is the clearest example: Professional is listed at $90 per seat a month when paid annually and $100 when paid monthly, and Enterprise starts at $150. HubSpot's product and services catalog says view-only seats come at no additional cost, which matters if executives and sales reps only need to read account health.

Seat pricing is cheap when the team is small and the book is large. It gets expensive the other way round. A startup with 10 CSMs covering 300 enterprise accounts pays for 10 seats regardless.

Per account or customer volume

Here the unit is how many customers you track. Successifier sells tiers of up to 50 accounts for $79 a month, up to 250 for $249 and up to 1,000 for $499. Each tier also caps team members (2, 10, then unlimited), so in practice you are metered on both and whichever limit you hit first sets the price.

Quote-only vendors use account caps too. ClientSuccess limits its Startup package to 500 customers and 10 full licences, and its Growth package to 5,000 customers and 50 licences. Gainsight describes Essentials as 10 full users with 100 customers per user and unlimited viewer licences. Neither attaches a price to those limits.

Volume pricing punishes a long tail. If you have 900 small self-serve accounts and 40 that matter, you are paying to monitor the 900.

Platform fee plus scope

Odie's pricing page is the most explicit version. The Customer Knowledge Engine starts at $500 a month and is priced on how many knowledge graphs (business units, customers and employees) Odie maintains, plus an access fee for the MCP connection to your own AI tools. The Customer Operating System, which Odie describes as its alternative to a traditional CS platform, starts at $1,500 a month and is priced on portfolio size, the depth and frequency of analysis, and a pool of AI tokens and service hours. Odie says there is no seat-based pricing.

"Starts at" is the operative phrase. Those are floors. A 400-account portfolio analysed daily will be quoted above them, and the page does not say by how much.

Implementation and services fees

This is the line that older lists ignore. HubSpot states that Professional pricing "does not include the required, one-time Professional Onboarding for a fee of $1,500", and the Enterprise equivalent is $3,500. ClientSuccess and Custify both state in their pricing FAQs that they charge no setup fees. Planhat lists onboarding, technical deployment and managed services under a "Services" heading without prices, so ask whether they are bundled.

Time is a cost as well. Odie tells buyers to plan on about eight weeks to go live. ClientSuccess says most customers are fully implemented in 4 to 6 weeks. Custify advertises a four-week concierge onboarding, Gainsight says Essentials can be live "in as little as two weeks", and Successifier claims most teams are running within 30 minutes. All of those are vendor statements. None has been independently timed.

Annual minimums and commitment terms

The monthly number on a pricing page is often an annual contract divided by twelve. Odie is blunt about it: asked whether customers can pay month to month, its FAQ answers "Sorry, no. Terms start at one year, and most customers sign for two years." HubSpot's Professional tier offers monthly payment, but the billing toggle reads "commit annually". ClientSuccess says annual contracts typically run 15 to 20% below its month-to-month rates. Successifier is the outlier, with "cancel anytime" on every plan and two months free for annual billing.

For a startup with 14 months of runway, a two-year term on an unproven tool is a real liability, whatever the monthly figure looks like.

A sixth meter is appearing: AI credits

Two of the three vendors with public prices now attach an AI allowance. HubSpot includes 3,000 HubSpot Credits with Professional and 5,000 with Enterprise, and sells more in packs. Odie's Customer Operating System comes with an "AI Success" pool that funds on-demand analyses, generated briefs and its chat copilot, while scheduled daily analyses are covered by the account fee. Odie says it never charges overages automatically. Ask every quote-only vendor the same question, because AI usage is where a fixed bill can stop being fixed.

What a startup would pay at three sizes

The table uses published list prices only. Year one includes stated one-time fees. No discounts are assumed, and taxes are excluded. "Quote only" means the vendor publishes nothing we can multiply.

Option2 CSMs, 100 accounts5 CSMs, 400 accounts10 CSMs, 1,000 accounts
HubSpot free tools plus a spreadsheet$0 (2-user limit)Not available (over 2 users)Not available
HubSpot Service Hub Professional, paid annually$3,660 year one, then $2,160$6,900 year one, then $5,400$12,300 year one, then $10,800
Successifier, monthly billing$2,988 (Professional)$5,988 (Business)$5,988 (Business, at its account ceiling)
Odie Customer Knowledge Engine$6,000 floor$6,000 floor$6,000 floor
Odie Customer Operating System$18,000 floor$18,000 floor$18,000 floor
ClientSuccessQuote only (Startup package fits)Quote only (Startup package fits)Quote only (needs Growth package)
Gainsight EssentialsQuote onlyQuote onlyQuote only (at the stated 10-user limit)
Quivly AI, Custify, Planhat, ChurnZero, VitallyQuote onlyQuote onlyQuote only

How those numbers were worked out

HubSpot. Seats times $90 times 12, plus $1,500 once. Two seats come to $2,160 a year, five to $5,400, ten to $10,800. Paying monthly at $100 a seat lifts the 2-seat first year to $3,900. Ten Enterprise seats would be $18,000 plus $3,500.

Successifier. The Starter tier stops at 50 accounts, so 100 accounts needs Professional at $249 a month, or $2,988 over twelve months. Professional stops at 250 accounts, so 400 accounts needs Business at $499 a month, or $5,988. Business covers up to 1,000 accounts with unlimited team members, so the 10-CSM case fits with nothing to spare. One more account puts you on an Enterprise quote. Successifier says annual billing means paying for 10 months instead of 12, which would be $2,490 and $4,990, but it asks buyers to contact it for annual pricing, so treat those as indicative.

Odie. $500 and $1,500 times 12. Both are minimums with a one-year minimum term, and the price rises with portfolio size.

What the arithmetic shows

At the smallest size, HubSpot Professional costs less per year than Successifier after year one ($2,160 against $2,988) and more in year one because of onboarding. At five CSMs they are within a few hundred dollars of each other. At ten CSMs the seat model costs about twice the volume model, $10,800 against $5,988.

The crossover runs the other way if your ratio is different. Two CSMs managing 1,000 small accounts would pay HubSpot $2,160 a year and Successifier $5,988. So the cheapest model depends on accounts per CSM, and you should compute that ratio before reading any pricing page.

Price is also not the same as fit. HubSpot's Professional tier lists a customer success workspace and 50 health scores, but it is built around CRM and ticket records, and in our reading product usage data has to be piped in separately. Successifier is a small Swedish vendor (Successifier AB), and the SOC 2 and uptime claims on its pricing page are its own. Those are reasons a quote-only platform may still be the right purchase. They are just not reasons you can price from the outside.

The quote-only vendors: what their pages do tell you

A missing price does not mean a missing signal. Each of these pages says something about how the eventual quote will be built.

ClientSuccess

ClientSuccess says its pricing is "based on the number of customer success managers using the platform and the modules you need", with Meeting Intelligence, Automation and AI, and Customer Onboarding Portals sold as add-ons. It also claims to be "typically 30-50% less expensive than enterprise customer success platforms like Gainsight". That is the vendor's own comparison with no figures behind it, so it cannot be checked. The page says it is priced for SaaS companies between $5M and $500M in ARR, which puts many seed-stage startups below its stated range even though a "Startup Package" exists.

Gainsight

Two CS packages, Essentials and Enterprise, both "Request Pricing". Essentials includes 10 full users at 100 customers per user. Enterprise doubles both and adds renewal and expansion forecasting, company news, and organisational mapping with sponsor tracking. No free plan or trial is listed for the customer success product.

Custify

The pricing page is titled "Flexible Pricing" and contains no numbers. What it does commit to: no setup fees, guided implementation, in-app and email support, and data stored in Germany. Third-party price listings for Custify disagree with each other, so we have not repeated any.

Planhat

Planhat now sells three applications on one platform (a sales CRM, a customer success platform and a professional services tool) and prices all of them by enquiry. Its pricing page lists add-ons, including an upgraded AI platform, email marketing and advanced portals, which tells you the base quote is unlikely to be the whole bill. The free 50-account Planhat tier that circulates in some guides does not appear anywhere on the page.

Vitally

Three plans named after coverage models, Tech-Touch, Hybrid-Touch and High-Touch, each "Request Pricing". Unlimited automations, unlimited observer seats, single sign-on and the full integration library are included in all of them. Vitally offers a trial sandbox with your own data as part of its sales process, which is the closest thing to a try-before-you-buy among the quote-only group.

ChurnZero

We could not find a public pricing page, and ChurnZero's product pages route to a demo request. Review sites publish wildly different ChurnZero figures, from per-user monthly prices to flat annual ones, and they contradict each other. We left all of them out.

Quivly AI

Quivly describes itself as an "AI workforce for post-sales teams" and is the youngest company here (its site says it is backed by Y Combinator). The product is a set of modules, Actions Feed, AI Agents, Ask Quivly, Customer 360, Health Score, Notebooks, Projects and Radar, and its Health Score page says each account's score is recomputed every minute from CRM, product, support, billing and market signals. Its trust page lists a SOC 2 Type 2 report dated July 30, 2026.

On cost, there is nothing to report. Quivly has no pricing page, the site's only call to action is "Book a demo", and no free tier or trial is listed. A draft we reviewed for this article described a free Quivly plan. We found no evidence of one.

What to consider before asking Quivly for a quote:

  • No published price, floor or unit, so you cannot sanity-check a quote against a list.
  • A short public record: three customer stories linked from its homepage, against the 700-plus reviews Vitally cites on its own pricing page.
  • It sells an embedded forward deployed engineer model alongside the software, so ask whether services are inside the subscription or billed separately.
  • An agent that drafts customer outreach needs clean CRM, usage and billing data on day one. If yours is not clean, the first cost is integration work.

The cheap route that is not a CS platform

Plenty of startups should buy none of the above yet.

A CRM and a spreadsheet

HubSpot's free tools cost $0 for up to 2 users. Pair that with a spreadsheet that has one row per account and four columns you update weekly: last login or usage figure, open support tickets, days to renewal, and a red, amber or green call made by a human. For a founder and one CSM with fewer than about 50 accounts, this is a legitimate system.

Its limits are plain. Nothing updates itself, so the sheet is as current as your last Friday review. There is no alerting. The free tier ends at two users. And it captures the judgement of one person, which leaves with that person.

HubSpot Service Hub as a middle step

If you already run sales on HubSpot, Service Hub Professional is the lowest-friction upgrade because the accounts, contacts and tickets are already there. For $90 a seat you get the customer success workspace, health scores, a knowledge base, a customer portal and feedback surveys. The Starter tier, which HubSpot's catalog lists from $20 per seat a month, does not include the customer success workspace or health scores, so it is not a cheaper path to the same features.

Be honest about what this is. It is a help desk and CRM with a CS workspace added, and it is weakest exactly where dedicated platforms are strongest: product usage data and multi-signal scoring. Our comparison of platforms that unify product usage data with CS workflows covers that gap, and the affordable customer health monitoring tools guide looks at lighter products that only do scoring.

Turning a quote into a comparable number

Seven vendors will hand you a quote instead of a price. To compare them with the published options, ask each for the same six lines in writing:

  1. The annual subscription at your current seat and account counts.
  2. The same subscription at double the accounts, so you can see the slope.
  3. Every one-time fee: onboarding, implementation, data migration, training.
  4. Paid add-ons you would need in year one (AI, portals, meeting intelligence, extra integrations).
  5. The AI allowance, how it is metered, and what happens when it runs out.
  6. Minimum term, renewal price increase, and the notice period for cancelling.

Add lines 1, 3 and 4 for year one. Divide by your account count. Cost per account per year is the only figure that lets you set a seat-priced tool beside a volume-priced one. For reference, the published options above land between roughly $6 and $37 per account per year at the three sizes modelled, excluding the Odie floors.

Then put it against revenue. If your average contract is worth $8,000 a year and a tool costs $5,988, it has to save one account a year to cover its subscription, before counting the hours your team spends running it. That second cost is real and nobody's pricing page includes it. The growth-stage platform comparison goes further into when the admin load justifies a dedicated owner.

How we evaluated

We opened the pricing page of each of the ten vendors on 12 October 2026 and recorded only what was written there: prices, units, limits, fees, trial terms and contract terms. Where a site blocked automated access or rendered prices with scripts, we read the rendered page. Where a vendor had no pricing page (Quivly, ChurnZero), we checked its homepage and product pages for any price.

We did not use review-site price listings, reseller data or figures from vendor comparison blogs. In our experience those disagree with each other and with the vendor. The three-size model multiplies published list prices and adds stated one-time fees. It assumes one seat per CSM and no discounting.

Vendor names and ownership were checked on each company's own site. Totango became Odie on September 10, 2026, and the announcement says legacy Totango and Catalyst customers keep the same contract, pricing and product for now. Totango and Catalyst merged in 2024.

Limitations

This is a reading of public pricing pages, not a procurement study. We did not request quotes, so we have no data on what Quivly, Custify, Planhat, ChurnZero, Gainsight, ClientSuccess or Vitally actually charge. Any of them could come in below the published options for a given team.

List prices are not transaction prices. Startups often negotiate, and vendors run promotions. HubSpot's page showed a lower introductory figure on its Starter tier when we checked, which we have not used because the terms were unclear.

We did not test any product. Setup times, "no setup fee" statements and feature lists are the vendors' own claims. The health-score and AI capabilities described here were not benchmarked, and nothing in this article measures whether a tool reduces churn.

Successifier's annual figures are derived from its "pay for 10, get 12" statement and are not a published annual price. Odie's numbers are floors. Pricing pages change without notice, so recheck every figure before you sign.

Frequently asked questions

What is the most affordable customer success software for B2B startups?

Among vendors that publish prices, Successifier's Starter plan at $79 a month is the lowest paid entry point, but it stops at 50 accounts and 2 team members. HubSpot's free tools cost nothing for up to 2 users and exclude the customer success workspace. For most teams past 50 accounts, the realistic published range is $2,160 to $5,988 a year.

Do any customer success platforms have a free plan?

HubSpot is the only vendor of the ten with a standing free tier, and it is a free CRM and help desk, not a CS platform. Successifier offers a 14-day trial with no card. ClientSuccess states it has no free trial or free plan. Odie's pricing page lists paid packages only, so the free Totango plan mentioned in older guides should be treated as gone. We found no free tier on the Planhat, Gainsight, Custify, Vitally or Quivly sites.

Why do most customer success vendors hide their pricing?

Because the price depends on inputs they want to scope first: seats, account count, modules, integrations and contract length. ClientSuccess says as much on its pricing page. It also lets a vendor price to your budget. The practical response is to ask every vendor for the same six-line quote described above.

Is HubSpot Service Hub enough instead of a dedicated CS platform?

It can be, if you already use HubSpot as your CRM and your health signals live mostly in tickets, emails and deal records. Professional includes a customer success workspace and health scores at $90 a seat. It becomes a stretch when product usage is your main churn signal or when you need playbooks across many segments.

How much should a startup budget for implementation?

From published figures: $1,500 for HubSpot Professional, $3,500 for HubSpot Enterprise, and nothing at ClientSuccess or Custify according to their own FAQs. For every other vendor, ask. Budget internal time as well, since stated go-live periods range from 30 minutes (Successifier) to about eight weeks (Odie).

What does Quivly AI cost?

Quivly does not publish pricing. There is no pricing page, no stated floor and no listed free tier. You need a demo and a written quote, and you should ask how the forward deployed engineer service is charged.

Is per-seat or per-account pricing cheaper?

It depends on accounts per CSM. With few accounts per person (say 30 to 50), account-based tiers tend to win. With many accounts per person, seat pricing wins. In the published numbers here, 10 CSMs with 1,000 accounts pay $10,800 on seats and $5,988 on volume, while 2 CSMs with 1,000 accounts would pay $2,160 on seats and the same $5,988 on volume.

Conclusion

On published prices alone, a B2B startup can run customer success for $0 with a free CRM and a spreadsheet, for about $2,200 to $6,000 a year with HubSpot Service Hub Professional or Successifier, and from $6,000 a year upward with Odie. Everything else in the category requires a sales conversation before you know the number.

So work out your accounts-per-CSM ratio, decide which meter suits it, and get the six-line quote from two or three vendors. If one of them will not put onboarding fees and renewal terms in writing, you have learned something about the cost already.


This article reflects publicly available information as of October 2026 and does not endorse any specific platform. Software list prices, onboarding fees and contract terms change without notice and negotiated quotes can differ from published rates, so confirm every figure in writing with the vendor before signing. Consult a licensed professional for guidance specific to your business.

Last verified: 2026-10-12