Startup Finance Guide
Sales & Fintech Tools

Guides on CRM deal detection, debt collection voice AI, FDCPA compliance, and fintech automation. Multi-vendor comparisons with compliance scores, implementation timelines, and honest limitations.

A startup desk with a laptop, calculator and notebook of sums, with empty chairs around a shared table behind it

Most Affordable AI CRM for Startups: Cost at 3, 5 and 10 Seats

The cheapest AI CRM with automatic capture depends on team size: Attio is free for up to 3 seats, Freshsales Growth costs $45 a month for 5 seats and $90 for 10, and GoHighLevel is a flat $970 a year for unlimited users. At 5 seats on annual billing, monday CRM Standard is $85, Attio Plus and Close Essentials are $175 each, and Octolane Business is $395. The cheapest tiers mostly log email; plans where AI writes fields or records meetings run from $17 a seat (monday CRM) to $79 (Attio Pro, Octolane Business) and $99 (Close Growth). All figures are list prices read from vendor pricing pages on 12 October 2026, and none of the products were tested.

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, tax, or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for guidance specific to your situation.

Reviewed for financial accuracy by the Startup Finance Guide editorial team. Our editors cross-reference all claims against platform documentation, pricing pages, and primary regulatory sources. Last reviewed: October 12, 2026.

The most affordable AI CRM that still logs email on its own depends on headcount: Attio is free for up to 3 seats, Freshsales Growth costs $45 a month for 5 seats and $90 for 10, and GoHighLevel's flat $970 a year (about $81 a month) undercuts every per-seat plan except Freshsales from 5 people, and Freshsales too at 10. Those are the prices for the cheapest tier at each vendor that includes automatic capture, which is often not the tier in the headline. We priced six CRMs that way (Freshsales, GoHighLevel, monday CRM, Attio, Close and Octolane) on 12 October 2026, using each vendor's own pricing page.

The second half of the question, "actually saves time on data entry", is where the cheap answer and the right answer split. A $9 seat that files emails against contacts you already typed in removes less work than a $79 seat that writes the deal stage and notes for you. So this guide gives the arithmetic for 3, 5 and 10 seats, then says what each plan automates and what your team still types.

Some context on the size of the problem. Salesforce's 2026 State of Sales survey of 4,050 sales professionals reports that the average seller spends 40% of their time selling, and that Gen Z reps lose roughly two hours a week to manual data entry. It is a vendor survey, so treat it as a rough indication. Still, at 5 reps that is about 40 hours a month you are trying to buy back.

Key takeaways

  • At 3 seats, Attio's free plan ($0) and Freshsales Growth ($27 a month) are the cheapest ways to get email logged automatically. Octolane Pro is listed at $39 a month for up to 3 seats, but its own comparison table excludes automatic CRM updates on that plan.
  • At 5 seats the order is Freshsales ($45), GoHighLevel (about $81), monday CRM Standard ($85), Attio Plus and Close Essentials ($175 each), then Octolane Business ($395). All figures are per month on annual billing.
  • At 10 seats, Freshsales ($90) and GoHighLevel (still about $81) are far below the rest. monday CRM is $170, Attio and Close are $350, and Octolane is $790.
  • The cheapest tiers mostly log activity. Plans where AI writes fields or records meetings cost more: Freshsales Pro is $39 a seat, Attio Pro and Octolane Business are both $79, and Close Growth is $99. monday CRM is the exception, with AI data fields and a notetaker at $17.
  • None of these prices include usage. GoHighLevel bills email, phone and some AI by consumption, Close bills calls by usage, and Attio, Close, monday CRM and Octolane all meter AI through credits.

What each CRM costs at 3, 5 and 10 seats

The table uses the cheapest plan on which the vendor's pricing page lists automatic logging of email or other activity. Prices are per month on annual billing, in US dollars, before tax.

CRMCheapest plan with automatic captureList price3 seats5 seats10 seats
FreshsalesGrowth$9 per user$27$45$90
GoHighLevelStarter$970 a year flat, unlimited users$81$81$81
monday CRMStandard$17 per seat$51$85$170
AttioFree (to 3 seats), then Plus$0, then $35 per user$0$175$350
CloseEssentials$35 per user$105$175$350
OctolaneBusiness$79 per seat$237$395$790

Three caveats sit under those numbers. monday CRM's page showed these per-seat prices with the team size set to 10 seats and says plans start from 3 users, so we applied the same rate to 3 and 5 seats without confirming it at checkout. GoHighLevel's $81 is the $970 annual price divided by twelve. Month to month it is $97. And Octolane's Pro plan is cheaper than the Business figure shown, but it does not include the feature this article is about, which we explain in its section below.

Over a full year at 5 seats that is $540 for Freshsales, $970 for GoHighLevel, $1,020 for monday CRM, $2,100 for Attio or Close, and $4,740 for Octolane.

The same seats on monthly billing

Annual billing is a commitment many early teams would rather not make. Month to month, the list prices are $97 flat for GoHighLevel, $25 a seat for monday CRM Standard, $44 for Attio Plus and $49 for Close Essentials. At 5 seats that is $97, $125, $220 and $245. Freshworks and Octolane both advertise a 20% saving for annual billing, but we could not read a month-to-month figure off either page as served to us, so we have not estimated one.

What "automatic capture" means here

When we say automatic capture, we mean the CRM creates or updates a record without anyone typing: an email appears on the right contact, a meeting is transcribed and summarised, a field is filled from a conversation. A chatbot that answers website visitors is AI, but it does not reduce the typing your reps do after a call.

Vendors price three levels of this differently:

  1. Logging. Emails, calls and calendar events attach themselves to existing records.
  2. Record creation and enrichment. New people and companies are created from your inbox and filled in with public data.
  3. Field updates. The system reads a conversation and changes the deal stage, next step or notes.

Most plans under $40 a seat stop at level one or two. If you want a broader primer on the mechanics, we covered them in how to reduce manual data entry in a CRM.

How we evaluated

We read each vendor's public pricing page on 12 October 2026 and recorded the plan names, prices, seat limits and feature rows as shown. Where a pricing table used tick marks, we checked the page markup to see which plans each row applied to. For three vendors we also read a help article or support guide.

We did not open paid accounts or run the products, so every statement about what a plan does is the vendor's own description. The ranking is by cost at 5 seats on the capture tier. It is not a quality score. A seventh vendor on our original list was dropped because we could not corroborate its company and customer claims outside its own website.

The six CRMs, cheapest first at 5 seats

1. Freshsales: $45 a month for 5 seats

Freshsales has the lowest per-seat price here. Growth is $9 per user per month billed annually, Pro is $39 and Enterprise is $59, with a 21-day trial. The Growth card lists a kanban view, contact lifecycle stages, chat, email and phone, email templates, custom fields and basic workflows.

The capture comes from mailbox sync. Freshworks' support guide says two-way sync is the default for Gmail and Microsoft 365, and that incoming mail is scanned and attached to the matching contact. The same guide carries the limit that matters: "Only emails associated with contacts will be fetched." In other words, the email logging is automatic, and creating the contact is not.

What to consider:

  • Contact scoring and deal insights start on Pro at $39 a seat, which is $195 a month for 5 seats and more than four times the Growth bill.
  • The Freddy AI Agent add-on ($49 per 100 sessions) is a customer-facing bot. Freshworks' own FAQ says only customer-facing bot features consume sessions, so it is not a data-entry feature.
  • The pricing cards do not list a meeting recorder or notetaker on any Freshsales plan.
  • The pricing page does not say which plans include mailbox sync, and the support guide does not restrict it by plan. We treated it as available on Growth. Confirm that in the trial.

2. GoHighLevel: about $81 a month, however many seats

GoHighLevel prices by account instead of by person. Starter is $97 a month or $970 a year with 3 sub-accounts, unlimited contacts and unlimited users. A startup running one business needs one sub-account, so the bill is the same at 3 seats and at 30. There is a 14-day trial and no long-term contract.

Its automation works on interactions that happen inside HighLevel: forms, booking calendars, email and SMS marketing, inbound and outbound calling, and a unified conversations view all sit in the core feature list beside CRM and pipelines. For a marketing-heavy team that removes a lot of copying between tools. It is not the same as a CRM that reads your existing Gmail and updates deals.

What to consider:

  • The flat fee is not the whole bill. HighLevel's FAQ says there are usage-based costs for phone numbers, SMS, emails sent and premium AI. Its pricing guide puts email at $0.675 per 1,000 sent.
  • AI is sold three ways: pay per use at token cost, the AI Employee Growth plan at $50 a month per sub-account, or AI Employee Unlimited at $97. The Unlimited plan covers Conversation AI, Voice AI, Reviews AI and Content AI, and phone charges still apply to calls.
  • Those AI products talk to leads and write content. Nothing on the pricing page describes AI that updates deal fields from your sales emails or meetings, and we did not find a meeting notetaker listed there.

With the $50 AI add-on, a month-to-month account is $147, and it does not grow as you hire.

3. monday CRM: $85 a month for 5 seats

monday CRM has four plans. At the 10-seat setting, Basic is $12 per seat per month on annual billing, Standard is $17 and Pro is $28 (monthly billing: $18, $25 and $41). Plans start from 3 users and there is a 14-day trial but no free plan.

Basic is not the plan to price: it lists no AI agents and caps you at 1,000 contacts and deals. Standard is where the page lists the "centralized comms hub", described as one timeline per person for every email, call, meeting and note "that updates automatically". Standard also includes an AI meeting notetaker, AI-powered data fields that fill, categorise or summarise record data, a meeting prep agent, and lead sourcer and outreach caller agents. At $17 a seat that is the most automation per dollar in this comparison, on paper.

What to consider:

  • AI runs on credits. The page says credits "are included" on Standard and above but does not state how many, so heavy use of agents is an unknown cost.
  • Standard allows 250 custom automations a month and 10,000 active contacts and deals. Pro raises those to 25,000 and 100,000.
  • "Advanced log rules", which monday describes as automatically logging emails and activities exactly where they belong, are listed only on the Ultimate plan with custom pricing.
  • The page contradicts itself on the annual discount: the toggle says "save 33%" and the FAQ says 18%. Check the figure at checkout.

4. Attio: free at 3 seats, $175 a month at 5

Attio is the only product here with a free plan that includes capture. Free covers up to 3 seats with email and calendar sync (one account per user), real-time contact syncing and automatic enrichment. Plus is $35 per user per month on annual billing ($44 monthly) for up to 10 seats. Pro is $79 ($99 monthly) with no seat cap.

Attio goes a level further than plain logging. Its help centre says that, with default settings, it "creates records for every person you email and every person on your calendar", along with their companies, and links people to companies by email domain. So the contact list builds itself, which is the part Freshsales leaves to you.

What to consider:

  • Attio's FAQ describes the free plan as having "limited capabilities, including email and data enrichment". Auto-summaries and auto-labeling of email start on Plus.
  • Call Intelligence, which records and analyses meetings, and email sequences are on Pro only. At 5 seats that is $395 a month, the same as Octolane Business.
  • Ask Attio, AI agents and workflows are on every plan but draw on credits: 100 seat credits per user and 250 workspace credits a month on Free, 500 and 1,500 on Plus. Extra workspace credits start at $70 a month for 5,000 on annual billing.
  • The fourth teammate moves you off Free. Going from 3 seats to 4 takes the bill from $0 to $140 a month.

Attio also advertises a startup programme with up to 80% off for eligible companies, which could change this ranking for you. We have not applied it.

5. Close: $175 a month for 5 seats

Close is built around the phone. Essentials is $35 per user per month on annual billing ($49 monthly), Growth is $99 ($109) and Scale is $139 ($149). A single-user Solo plan is $9 ($19). The page offers a free trial with no credit card.

On every plan, including Essentials, the comparison table shows two-way email sync, automatic call logging for calls made in Close, Google and Outlook calendar sync, and a notetaker that records, transcribes and summarises Zoom, Teams and Meet meetings. Each Essentials user also gets 1,000 AI credits a month for Chloe, Close's AI sales agent, and for enrichment.

What to consider:

  • "Auto Updates", which run playbooks and fill outcomes and custom fields automatically, are on Growth and Scale only. So are lead summaries, AI email rewrite and automated workflows. Growth for 5 seats is $495 a month.
  • Calling is charged by usage on top of the seat price, and phone lines start at $1 per line per month.
  • Call recordings are kept for 30 days on Solo and Essentials, 90 days on Growth.

For a team that sells by calling, Essentials removes the most common chore, logging the call, at $35 a seat. For AI that writes fields, Close is the most expensive per seat in this group.

6. Octolane: $395 a month for 5 seats

Octolane has the highest bill at this tier and the most hands-off description of what the tier does. Business is $79 per seat per month billed yearly, with no seat limit and $40 a month in AI credits. The comparison table defines "Auto CRM updates" on Business as: "AI listens to your emails and meetings, then updates deal stages, contact info, and notes automatically." Business also adds AI that sends follow-ups once approved, meeting prep, fuller company and contact enrichment, 10 workflows, and six months of searchable activity history.

Pro is the plan most people will see first, at $39 a month billed yearly with a 7-day trial. It includes two-way email and calendar sync for one account, unlimited meeting recording and transcription on Zoom, Meet and Teams, AI meeting summaries, and AI-drafted follow-ups that you approve and send. The comparison table marks Auto CRM updates as not included on Pro. That is the detail to read before budgeting, because the Pro card also lists "AI field updates" without defining the difference.

What to consider:

  • The pricing page states the Pro price two ways. The plan card says $39 a month "up to 3 seats", and the comparison table says "$39 /seat/mo". For a 3-person team that is either $39 or $117 a month. Ask before you pay.
  • Pro is capped at 3 seats, 30 days of activity history, 200 emails a month and one workflow. A 4-person team has to move to Business, which takes the bill from at most $117 to $316 a month.
  • Business has no self-serve trial on the page. The button is "Request a demo".
  • AI lead scoring, email sequences, forecasting and custom objects are on the Team plan, which has custom pricing. The audit log, SSO and phone number enrichment are Enterprise only.
  • AI use is capped by a dollar credit ($20 a month on Pro, $40 on Business). We could not read the page's answer on what happens when you exceed it.
  • Octolane's home page now describes the product as an agent layer that "connects to the CRM and tools your team already uses", while the pricing page sells it as a replacement for HubSpot. Clarify which deployment you are buying.

Octolane lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR and CCPA on its pricing page. We did not verify those against an auditor's report or registry.

What each plan removes and what stays manual

This table compares the capture tier priced above. "Listed" means the vendor's pricing page or help centre says so. We did not test it.

CRM and planEmails logged automaticallyNew contacts created from inboxMeetings recorded and summarisedAI writes fields or deal stageStill manual on this plan
Freshsales GrowthListed, for existing contacts onlyNo, per the support guideNot listedNo (scoring starts on Pro)Creating contacts, meeting notes, stage changes
GoHighLevel StarterFor email sent through HighLevelFrom forms and bookingsNot listedNot listedNotes from meetings held elsewhere, deal updates
monday CRM StandardListedNot statedListed (AI notetaker)Listed (AI data fields, on credits)Board setup, anything past the credit allowance
Attio FreeListedListed, by defaultPro onlyVia workflows and agents, on creditsMeeting notes, most deal stage changes
Close EssentialsListedNot statedListed (notetaker)Growth onlyCustom fields, call outcomes, stage changes
Octolane BusinessListedNot statedListedListed (deal stage, contact info, notes)Approving outbound messages, reviewing the AI's edits

What it costs when the AI writes the record

If level three is what you are after, the tiers and the arithmetic change. Prices are per month on annual billing, except GoHighLevel, where the add-on is monthly.

CRMPlan with AI field updates or scoring3 seats5 seats10 seats
monday CRMStandard, $17$51$85$170
GoHighLevelStarter plus AI Employee Growth, $97 + $50$147$147$147
FreshsalesPro, $39$117$195$390
AttioPro, $79 (adds meeting recording)$237$395$790
OctolaneBusiness, $79$237$395$790
CloseGrowth, $99$297$495$990

These rows are not like for like. monday's AI fields categorise and summarise data. Freshsales Pro scores contacts and flags deal risk. GoHighLevel's AI holds conversations with leads. Attio Pro records meetings and leaves field updates to workflows you build. Close Growth fills outcomes and custom fields through playbooks. Octolane Business is the only one whose pricing page says the AI changes deal stages and notes from emails and meetings without a workflow. Only a trial with your own deals will show whether any of them is accurate enough to trust.

One thing in this table surprised us. At the tier where meetings are recorded and AI acts on them, Attio and Octolane cost the same and Close costs more. Octolane looks expensive in the first table because it has no cheap logging-only tier above 3 seats.

Which one fits which startup

A founder or a team of up to 3 who mostly sell by email should start on Attio Free. It costs nothing and the contact list builds itself from the inbox. Budget for $35 a seat when the fourth person joins.

A team of 5 to 10 that wants the lowest bill and can live with logging only should look at Freshsales Growth, with contacts imported up front so the sync has something to match. We compared more plans in this price band in our guide to CRM automation tools under $50 per user. If the same team wants a notetaker and AI-filled fields without paying $79 a seat, monday CRM Standard is the cheapest listed route, at the cost of setup time and an undisclosed credit allowance.

Teams that expect to hire quickly, or that run forms and SMS campaigns, get the best unit economics from GoHighLevel if someone watches the usage wallet. Phone-first teams should price Close Essentials first.

A team that wants the CRM to maintain itself, and will pay per seat for it, should run Octolane Business against Attio Pro and Close Growth, its real price peers. If you live in Gmail and want more options built around that inbox, see our earlier comparison of affordable self-updating CRMs.

Limitations

This is a pricing-page study. We did not run any of the six products, so we cannot say how accurate the automatic updates are or how quickly AI credits run out in normal use. Those things decide whether a tool saves time.

Specific gaps:

  • Month-to-month prices for Freshsales and Octolane were not readable on the pages as served to us.
  • monday CRM prices were read at the 10-seat setting only. Its support site blocked our requests, so plan availability for its email logging rests on the pricing page alone.
  • Credit allowances are not stated for monday CRM, and overage rules were not readable for Octolane.
  • We did not confirm that Freshsales mailbox sync is included on Growth, or model GoHighLevel's usage costs.
  • Security certifications are as listed by each vendor and were not checked against auditor reports.
  • Prices are US list prices before tax, startup discounts and negotiated deals. Vendors change them often, and two of the six pricing pages contradicted themselves on the day we read them.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest AI CRM for a 5-person startup?

On list price with annual billing, Freshsales Growth is cheapest at $45 a month for 5 seats, followed by GoHighLevel at about $81 flat and monday CRM Standard at $85. Of the three, only monday CRM Standard lists an AI notetaker and AI-filled fields.

Is there a free AI CRM that logs emails automatically?

Attio's free plan covers up to 3 seats and includes email and calendar sync, automatic record creation for the people you correspond with, and limited enrichment. It does not include meeting recording, which is on Pro at $79 a seat. monday CRM, Close and Freshsales offer free trials but list no free plan on their pricing pages.

How much does Octolane cost?

Octolane's pricing page lists Pro at $39 a month billed yearly for up to 3 seats, and Business at $79 per seat per month billed yearly. Team and Enterprise are custom. The page is inconsistent on whether Pro's $39 is per seat or for the workspace. Automatic CRM updates and AI-sent follow-ups are on Business and above, so a 5-seat team that wants them pays $395 a month.

Do flat-rate CRMs work out cheaper than per-seat CRMs?

It depends on headcount. GoHighLevel's $97 monthly fee is more than Freshsales Growth at any size up to 10 seats ($90), which is on annual billing, but it is below monday CRM Standard on monthly billing from 4 seats ($100) and below Close Essentials from 2 seats ($98). Add usage charges and any AI add-on before comparing.

What data entry do AI CRMs still leave to people?

More than the marketing suggests. On the cheapest tiers, people still create contacts (Freshsales), write up meetings (Attio Free, Freshsales), move deal stages, and fill custom fields (Close Essentials). Even on plans that update records automatically, someone has to review what the AI wrote. Octolane's home page FAQ says its system is "built around human approval".

Do I need permission to record sales calls with an AI notetaker?

Often, yes. US federal law generally permits recording when one party to the conversation consents (18 U.S.C. 2511(2)(d)), but several states require every participant's consent, and other countries have their own rules. Tell attendees at the start and have a lawyer review your policy. This is general information, not legal advice.

Conclusion

If the question is strictly about price, the answer is Attio at 3 seats, Freshsales at 5, and GoHighLevel or Freshsales at 10. If the question is about typing less, price the tier that does the typing: monday CRM Standard at $17 a seat is the low end, and Attio Pro, Octolane Business and Close Growth cluster between $79 and $99.

Whichever you shortlist, run the trial on live deals for a week and count the fields you still filled in by hand.


This article reflects publicly available information as of October 2026 and does not endorse any specific platform. Software prices, plan limits and usage charges change often and were not tested in live accounts, so confirm the current terms with each vendor before you commit to a contract. Consult a licensed professional for guidance specific to your business.

Last verified: 2026-10-12